Holy City Style

August 28, 2008

8 Things Every Man Should Have

Filed under: fashion,how to — carolime @ 4:36 am
Tags: ,

Gentlemen, I’ve been watching you. Not in a less than flattering, overly voyeuristic way…but more of a stylish girl-about-town noting of what you should wear. Truth is, I’m a lucky girl and spend about 98.9% of my time around you all…I live with you, I work with you, hell…I’m dating one of you.

Notes on what each one of you should have to make me (or any well dressed doll) swoon.

Tod’s compliments of Neiman Marcus

#1. A Driving Shoe

I want you to have this shoe. I want you to have this shoe so I can pretend you have a Bentley you only take out on the weekends, and that I can sit shotgun with a scarf in my hair a la Grace Kelly. That and it makes you look incredibly suave…(more points if they’re Tod’s)

Ralph Lauren Eton Wool Herringbone Blazer

#2. A (Nice) Sports Coat

Over a polo-shirt, tshirt, or oxford. Paired with dress pants or jeans. The sports coat automatically makes you go from run of the mill to spectacular male fashion god.

As Brian notes in the comments, the sport coat only hold its charm when well tailored to the gentleman wearing it. This is simply a must.

#3. The Boxer Brief

All unladylike comments aside, no one wants to see an awkward poof of fabric spilling over the waist line of your pants. Even less points if that fabric is embellished with penguins or sports teams…or anything equally ridiculous. The boxer brief is discreet, stylish, and so worth it.

#5. An Impressive Music Repertoire

I like music. It’s my job to like music. But that aside I like very many girls, like to know that you like music. I would like to be impressed by what you listen to no matter that is. Impress me.

#6. A Vocabulary

Every gentleman should have a handle of the English language. There are many words you may use, please don’t limit yourselves to words like “bro” or “yeh man” because there are infact many words you may choose from. I like to know you’re intelligent. We all do.

#7. Product

I’m not asking for much here, just something beyond the Suave shampoo you picked up at the Dollar Store because your mother told you to stop using Irish Springs soap in your hair. There’s an entire section of the hair/face care market devoted to you, utilize it.

perhaps not this Cartier model…but if you’re feeling ambitious

#8. A Decent Wallet

When you whip that puppy out, I don’t want to see anything by Abercrombie or made out of duct tape. I like to know that what it looks on the outside, is an indicator of what could be on the inside. You can tell a lot about a man by the wallet he carries, just try and prove me wrong on that one.

2 Comments »

  1. Don’t hate Caroline…Irish Spring soap is pretty legit.

    just kidding.

    Based on my count I’ve got 7 out of 8. Only missing item number one, but that’s just because I don’t want girls to get their hopes up imagining themselves riding in my Bentley when I roll up for our date in my Hyundai Sonata (although it does have a sun roof, so hair blowing in the wind may be possible…man do I miss my convertible…)

    Comment by David Griffin Heiser — August 28, 2008 @ 6:03 am | Reply

  2. A few things:

    – Not a big fan of the wallet just for the simple fact that most men have this tendency to become pack rats when it comes to the contents. Old receipts, movie tickets and condoms from 2002 all have a tendency to cause wallets to resemble this economy-size burrito I would get a Taco Bell on any given late night. I recommend a understated money clips for all your bills (I have a silver, monogrammed one from Things Remembered), and a svelte bill fold that holds all of your important cards (this does not include your Blockbuster membership card), and a few business cards for good measure.

    – I agree that owning a decent sport coat is an absolute essential for any man’s wardrobe, but be sure that wherever you may get said coat from, you get it tailored at your nearest, most trusted tailor in town. Whether that’s your grandfather, the alteration shop up the street or an elite tailor from Saville Row, get it fitted to your body.

    -BJW

    Comment by Brian Wilder — August 28, 2008 @ 4:03 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

