Holy City Style

June 2, 2008

And Sunday Was…

Filed under: Uncategorized — carolime @ 3:32 am

Fabulous.

After six days of hustle and bustle…this stylish faun found herself on the brink of exhaustion. Fortunately, I fully realized that feeling Saturday night at 11:30 p.m. as I jetted back from a particularly trying double shift…just in time to realize the next day was thankfully Sunday. An entirely unscheduled day

I awoke this morning wrapped in Egyptian cotton sheets and aware to the chirp of my cell phone from the floor. A quick phone call from a good friend, and I had plans to–finally–see Sex And The City. The day was shaping up perfectly and it had only been five minutes.

Pulling on a new royal blue sundress (perfect for a Sunday), I began my new skin care regiment compliments of the free goodies sent from Mario Badaesco. One subtle smelling orange facewash and seaweed toner later–among a few other quick treatments– and I was ready for a mid-morning brunch.

The usually-better half and I drove to Nathan’s, a discreet almost hole-in-the-wall dive on Ashley River Road in West Ashley. The decor reminded me a bit of what might happen if one picked furniture by spinning three times in a thrift store and bought whatever was in front of them. It certainly wasn’t perfect, it certainly wasn’t trendy, and it certainly was delightful. Nathan’s is a bit of an epicurean enigma. Part Jewish deli, part down home greasy-spoon. I settled on the blintzes served with sour cream and blueberry jelly. They were served perfectly crisp on the outside and creamy and soft inside. The combination of the sour cream and jelly moved them from tasty…to simply divine.

After brunch, my beau and I settled ourselves by the pool where I caught up on my magazine reading. I rarely buy magazines (aside from the Nylon that usually appears on m doorstep each month), but today I indulged in the new issues of Cosmopolitan, Vogue Home, and Real Simple. I read these poolside dressed in my (such a steal) end of the season $2 bathing suit paired with a new favorite straw fedora.

The pool was followed by an afternoon shower, among other things, before I again pulled on the perfectly royal blue sundress. A day by the pool had served my skin well, and by some miracle (perhaps the SPF 15) I escaped the outdoors sunkissed rather than sunburned.

Early this evening, I settled into the dusty seats of the Citadel Mall movie theater, almost a forgotten relic among the Charleston area super-big screens. I found it difficult to hide my excitement about Sex And The City. I would say you’d be hard pressed to find a dama who felt differently.

In all the required cliche manners I laughed, I cried, and instantly pined for a blue pair of Manolo Blahniks. I give it two well manicured thumbs up, despite the egregious instances of product placement which I can over look only because it’s Carrie, Samantha, Charlotte, and Miranda. (Style review surely to follow soon

The evening ends here, curled up on the couch watching Food Network and snacking on grilled tuna and homemade salsa, sipping a Pomagranate-ice tea cocktail and wondering how Paula Dean can make peanut butter and jelly cupcakes look so good.

An excellent Sunday indeed.

1 Comment »

  1. Damn girl. I’m jealous.

    Comment by Bridget — June 4, 2008 @ 1:12 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

