Holy City Style

May 21, 2008

What To Wear: Opening Weekend Gala at the Spoleto Festival

That time has come again, when Charleston becomes a super mecca of culture. From ballet, to theater, to jazz, to the parties, to everything in between. .

Which of course means you know what you’re wearing to the Opening Weekend Gala…right?

If you answered standard issue black tie…you’ve missed the mark, darling. I offer my guidance on what to wear to the opening weekend of the biggest cultural event this side of the Atlantic.

Outfit #1

Why I like It…First, I adore the dress. The flow of the fabric is summery, and eclectic, and has that perfect touch of sophistication. I would pair it with a Greek style headband (which I’m still roving the Internet for). For this collection though, I’ve put the dress with a gold ankle strap shoe. The ankle strap is perhaps one of the sexiest shoes known to woman–or man I suppose. I like the way this one compliments the detail at the top of the dress. I’m in the midst of a ring obsession at the moment, so I’m in love with the two rings pictured above. The purple one offers a nice compliment to the dress, while the hippo head is just pure fun. I’ve finished the outfit with a lovely python patterned clutch with hints of blue to pull everything together. You can see all the pieces in this outfit here.

Outfit #2

Why I like It…I must admit I’m a sucker for green and deep red paired together, and the flow of this dress is simply divine–In my humble opinion. I’m drooling over the shoes (again note the ankle strap, sexy eh?). The clutch is a nice touch of metallic and the jewelry pulls the shoes together with the rest of you. This look is a little richer in terms of color, but would work well if you have a decent tan. Again, you can see all the pieces here.

Outfit #

Why I like It…This would be what I would wear were I to go to the opening gala. The pink and black really pop together, and I’m in love with the dress. I’ve seen this Yves Saint Laurent clutch pop up in a few places now, and had to use it in an outfit. The clutch really adds a bit of artful whimsy to the outfit as does the black feather hair piece. I used to a plethora of rings in this outfit because it begs to be over the top–as seen in the detail on the dress’ neckline. Finally, you can see all the items here.

Spoleto Festival starts on May 23 and runs through June 8th. For more information on Spoleto or the Opening Weekend Gala, click your way to their website.

3 Comments »

  1. […] Ladies, need tips on what to wear to Spoleto’s Opening Gala? […]

    Pingback by Lowcountry Blogs » Spoleto Bits — May 21, 2008 @ 10:15 am | Reply

  2. Perhaps you’re looking for a headband simiilar to this?

    http://www.jenniferbehr.com/index.php?main=gall&gall=3&thumb=7&page=1

    Comment by Kris — May 21, 2008 @ 1:12 pm | Reply

  3. yes. exactly that!

    I’ll take one of each.

    xxx
    Caroline

    Comment by carolime — May 21, 2008 @ 2:52 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

