Holy City Style

May 16, 2008

Restaurant Review: Brunch at the Glass Onion

Filed under: Food — carolime @ 5:44 pm
Tags: , ,

The Glass Onion seems more than a bit out of place in that rough stretch of Highway 17 in West Ashley that boasts more dull and dusty than fun and bright.

My better half (or usually better) and I had driven past The Glass Onion a few times, each time passing back and forth on whether it might be a good place to stop and eat. We finally availed ourselves on this option last Saturday when we stopped in for brunch.

The parking lot was nearly full, with only a couple of spots to spare (nice to note on a restaurant so new). We parked and immediately noticed the drastic difference in the building since it had been renovated from it’s former second-hand book store incarnate to this now folksy “down home” restaurant.

The interior is clean and new, with dashes of whimsical art on the walls and a no-frills but still very cool demeanor–if a building can have such a thing. The Glass Onion’s menu is displayed on a massive chalkboard next to the counter. It’s a bit hard to read, but really added to the over all ambiance of the place.

I immediately noticed the the Radler…an interestingly combination of beer and lemonade that looked so  Southern it hurt (Yes, I know it’s actually from Europe…I read my Wikipedia article). I’m not a beer kind of girl, but I really might be tempted to taste this at some point.

I settled on the BLT Po’ Boy (I seem to always order BLT’s, but they’re really my favorite sandwich) and a regular Coke. Something about these restaurants always makes me forget to be dainty and modern…but if you’re going to eat at a restaurant like this, you might as well go for the Classic Coke.

The Oyster Benedict with Creamed Greens and Strawberry Pancakes with Toasted Pecan Syrup also caught my eye, but seemed a bit too heavy for my taste at the moment. I will however try both of these soon.

I love the idea that you place your order at the counter and are given a card sporting a vintage cartoon character (we had Snoopy portraying Joe Cool) for the waitress to find your table. Much better idea than the standard-issue and quite boring number-on-a-card. Likewise with drinks, you place your order and then get what you want from the fountain.

The food arrived promptly, and I must say I was a little bit disappointed to see that the $8 sandwich was just that–a sandwich on a plate garnished with two pickle chips. I really would have liked to see a side of something accompany my lonely BLT.

The sandwich itself was quite tasty though. It’s made with Benton bacon (read: massively thick), local bib lettuce and hydroponic tomatoes. The lettuce was tasty, but I missed the crunch of Romaine lettuce on my sandwich. I liked the idea of using a baguette for the BLT, but part of me also missed the soft feel of sliced bread. I liked the sandwich, but wish the elements might have been a bit more harmonious together.

Overall, I enjoyed my experience at The Glass Onion. I’ll have to go back and try them again for a more substantial meal. I find great solace in the fact that they are so reasonably priced. None of the brunch items are more than $14–which is very nice for a ::cough:: “young professional”. And since I really do try and make an effort to eat local foods, The Glass Onion helps in that regard too. Nearly all of their produce is locally grown. Tasty!

The Glass Onion is located at 1219 Savannah Highway in West Ashley.

They’re open Monday through Friday 11-8pm and Saturday for brunch from 10-4pm.

3 Comments »

  1. I’ll have to drag Nate here. Looks great.

    Comment by Bridget — May 16, 2008 @ 10:47 pm | Reply

  2. Caroline – I just discovered your site through Brian’s blog. I really enjoyed this review. I like how, even in a restaurant review, you stay true to the overall theme of your blog by noting the more stylistic elements of the restaurant’s design in addition to the food. It’s always awesome to see other college kids putting out quality, insightful writing. Keep up the good work.

    – DH

    p.s. If you don’t mind, I may link/reference this post on my blog sometime in the not-to-distant future because I have been meaning to write something on The Glass Onion for a while now.

    Comment by David Heiser — May 19, 2008 @ 8:38 pm | Reply

  3. Glass Onion disapointing — Today, I took 3 friends (two visiting from North Carolina, one from Colorado) for brunch at The Glass Onion.
    I had told them how great the food and service was and they were very excited to try it. One friend ordered the quiche Lorraine, only to be told later that the quiche was not ready and was forced to make another choice. Another friend and I ordered the gumbo, which was served without rice since apparently someone had forgotten to make rice. At the register, we were offered about $1 off the gumbo since it came with no rice. I’m not from New Orleans, but is rice-less gumbo really traditional gumbo?

    Wikipedia has the correct definition of gumbo. Perhaps the owners and staff of this purportedly cajun eatery should visit this article to be brought up to date:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gumbo

    Comment by oigres73 — June 28, 2008 @ 11:49 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

