Holy City Style

March 10, 2008

Smart Fashionista’s Guide To Packing

Filed under: how to — carolime @ 3:29 am
Tags: , ,

Photo by Merkley???

Yes, it is Sunday. And yes, I should be writing a Thrifty Chic entry–just hold your horses darlings…there are more pressing matters.

I realized I have been back state-side for over a day and have yet to unpack the monstrous pale blue suede suitcase that sits ominously by the door in the exact spot I left it yesterday morning.

I blame this on my ambivalence towards packing, a skill I do posses but constantly fail to utilize.

I fall under the category of people who pack every possible shirt, short, pant, skirt, dress, wrap, and shoe they own on the possibility that they might want to wear a particular item during their expedition.

There’s a scene in one of my favorite books (Shopoholic Takes On Manhattan by Sophie Kinsella) where the heroine fervently tries to pack for a weekend away with her dashing beau. She draws a web connecting every possible outfit combination including those for “sitting by the pool–slightly chilly” before resorting to having her clothes sent by mail to the bed and breakfast so no one will know how much she packed.

She and I are brethren in different worlds.

So learn from my mistakes. And if you, too, are in the same boat as I (there is a suitcase in your life the size of a small cuiseship sitting, waiting to be unpacked)…I offer my humble advice.

Thou Shall Plan Before Thy Pack…

I’m not one for planning. Really. But when it comes to packing, it does behoove you. Plan to pack enough daytime outfits for the number of days you are away, plus two extras. Packing complete outfits (i.e.: top, bottom, shoes, accessories) cuts out packing those random pieces you stare at in your suitcase and never wear.

Then of course, you should always pack a few nighttime outfits. I’ll never forget my brother’s wedding over the summer. Of course, I neglected to bring enough night ensembles–who knew–and was in quite a quandry when I ran out of shirts to wear for going out at night. My mother, in typical style, pulled a gorgeous gold sweater from her bag before telling me the famous rule.

“You should always pack an extra”

Touche mummy, touche.

Write down your outfits as you plan them. This helps you visualize what you’re taking, and other possible combinations those pieces might make. It takes a little time, but is well worth it.

Finally, before you lay your first item in your suitcase. Lay everything out on your bed to better visualize what exactly you plan to take.

Thou Shalt Beware A Plethora of Shoes…

Again, something I find quite difficult to avoid. Do yourself a favor and limit the number of shoes you bring. A ravishing pair of versatile stilettos will get you almost anywhere in the world (figuratively and literally). Also pack two or three pairs of flats for everyday wear.

Now is not the time to pack your most uncomfortable daytime shoes–there is nothing worse than being 400 miles from home and not being able to change shoes when your puppies are barking.

Thou Shalt Be Versatile…

This especially applies to anything you might wear in the evenings. Investing in a black shift and changing it with any number of belts, wraps, and other accessories is always a good choice when away. Aside from packing one evening dress, a great pair of jeans and several mix and match shirts + accessories is always a good move for the girl abroad.

Thou Shalt Not Pack Thy Entire Cosmetics Case… 

Especially if you are going on vacation. Pack only those items you use most frequently. If you haven’t worn that peacock green eyeshadow since you bought it three months ago, chances are you won’t wear it while you’re away.

Do however, pack your emergency supply of my-god-where-did-you-come-from acne remover. I’m a fan of Clinique’s Acne Solutions Spot Healing Gel…works like a charm when a girl’s in a bind.

$13.50 from Clinique

Also, don’t forget to pack a supply of cotton balls and q-tips as these are always in short supply when away.

Thou Shalt Roll…

Folding or rolling your clothes, rather than tossing the whole heap in your bag, saves time and a whole lot of wrinkles.

Folding however often leaves pesky wrinkles that can be a pain to remove. Rolling the items together, however, doesn’t allow for them to wrinkle on the journey.

Please, make your mother proudn and don’t go out in wrinkled clothing.

Thou Shalt Remember Thy Panties… 

Being away from home is no excuse for panty lines.

Remember your roos, all kinds.

Please, please, please add your own notes–or horror stories–on packing. I think we could all learn something.

1 Comment »

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Allen Taylor

    Comment by Allen Taylor — March 10, 2008 @ 4:00 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

