Holy City Style

February 28, 2008

Men On The Red Carpet

Filed under: fashion,Gossip,Oscars 2008 — carolime @ 2:30 am
Tags: , ,

Gentlemen, now it’s your turn…

You know, George Clooney has always reminded me a bit of my dad. That aside, he pulls off the classic black tux perfectly. His arm candy, Sarah Larson, also looks delightful…although I think I’ve seen that fabric on a window treatment somewhere.
Keith Urban looks awfully tasty…and awfully short next to Nichole Kidman. That aside, I do love the wide lapel on his tux, and the black tie? Excellent. As for Nichole, I can’t say I’m in love with the look but she pulls it together very well.
Cash Warren looks immaculate. There’s only so much you can say about a man in a tux…but he does look good. Jessica Alba, however, looks like a mama raspberry. Not a fan of the feathery fluff on the front, but the color is quite lovely on her.
Seal looked good, not particularly spectacular, but good. Especially since he took a stroll down the red carpet with Mrs. Seal. Luhhcky.
I thought Daniel Day-Lewis looked good, until I saw the shoes. Daniel, darling, what are you doing? I do like the detail on the lapel. But those shoes kill it for me. Yeesh. Rebecca Miller’s dress is nice, but what are those weird bows on her shoulder? Did she hear everyone was wearing red and tried to follow suit? Bad move.
Johnny Depp is a fox. He would be a fox if her wore a banana suit. He could wear anything.
Viggo’s coat reminds me a bit of a riding jacket. Looks a little 1830’s western to me, but Viggo’s style is eclectic enough that I think he pulls it off well. I do enjoy that boutiner.
For real…this is the moment I’ve been waiting for. Javier Bardem is the best looking man in the world. Wouldja look at that face? Damn.
Jason Bateman looks good, but would you look at Amanda Anka’s dress? Love the simplicity of it. They come off as a very cohesive couple.
Steve Carell always looks a bit goofy to me, but he does look rather dapper.
I can’t shake him looking uber creepy in There Will Be Blood, but Paul Dano does look good here. Another man in a black tux though. Bleh.
Collin Farrell is a hotty.
Harrison Ford, even at 400 years old, is still a good looking man. I like this tie with the tux thing.
Josh Lucas really looks quite disheveled. His tie isn’t straight, and his hair looks a bit greasified. Not a fan.
I love the sheen in Mr. Combs jacket. I’ve always been impress with how sleek his style is. Faye Dunaway look a bit overly botoxed. Hummm
I love Mickey Rooney, he’s a staple of old Hollywood. And seriously, what red carpet doesn’t need an adorable old man?
3 Comments »

  1. Men’s fashion on the red carpet, eh? They all look the same with the exception of the few fellas that braved the possible wedgies from other actors because they wore a bow tie. First of all, the tuxedo has been a classic staple of ritzy male fashion since the mid 1850’s it has not changed that much in style since. (funny, because the tux was really created for the purpose of being a less than formal outfit for informal dinner parties.) Why doesn’t one of you gentlemen step out on the edge one time and do something different like the ladies. I’m not saying wear jeans and a t-shirt but maybe I don’t know, get Crooks and Castles, or 10Deep to design your tux. I guarantee you will probably be just as talked about as the ladies.

    Comment by Sonar — February 28, 2008 @ 1:33 pm | Reply

  2. Sonar – I could most definitely see that happening at the Grammys…but the fashion was a little tame there this year, too. sigh.

    Comment by carolime — February 28, 2008 @ 5:09 pm | Reply

  3. I just hope Mickey Rooney lives to be 1000! The Red Carpet will never be the same without him.

    Comment by Sonar — February 28, 2008 @ 6:15 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

